Fill in the blanks

I had to do a bit of blog editing today. A previous post that mentioned my views at the time of my previous employer was not seen in a good light – mind you, it didn’t really put them in a good light, so fair comment to them. The blog still retains it’s intention, but is worded in a more obvious “my opinion at the time” way, rather than being read as fact – which if you are a regular reader of this blog, you will know the way I write and where my intentions are based.

If you are an irregular reader you may find yourself reading things in ways they were not intended. The whole blog gives the big picture – the individual entries are the little picture – and you can’t base a view on the little picture. Just put “Social Worker” in the search box for a prime example (bloody idiot, that one!)

This blog is pretty much my online diary of events, rants and raves – with bits and pieces of advice and randomness thrown in for good measure. It’s a place where I can share knowledge, have a laugh and rant. A good rant gets things off of the chest which would otherwise boil up inside – although it is often worth revisiting some of the rants to ensure a level headedness is also practiced.

Oddly enough, the things that aren’t questioned amaze me more than the things that people deem important enough to question.

Mind you, as I said recently – the number of complaints I have ever had is insignificant compared to the ammount of hits the site gets – and the number of positive responses that I get.

Since moving to WordPress I have had 3 complaints. One I ignore due to the idiot who made it. They were swearing, obnoxious and blinkered so far to their cause that it was no point in arguing – and to top matters off they actual ended up contradicting there own argument… in a rant that would never had been written if they had bothered to actually read the blog entry correctly in the first place! So their complaint was unfounded, incorrect and eventually debunked by their own argument…. So that leaves 2 valid complaints.

I’m open for any debate, but I really can’t stand people who do not research their argument – almost as much as I dislike liars and fools who go behind peoples backs. Low life knuckle draggers with nothing better to do – So damned stuck in their own lives that they  need to bring others who strive for improvement down because they are so pathetic that they can’t improve themselves – but enough about that type of stuff! I’m happily surrounded by positive people in my life, so I’m not giving that rant any more airtime. In the words of the slack jawed streets… “End of.”

The two valid complaints triggered me to do edits. One caused me to re-evaluate a story on Jade Goody, and the other was the one I mentioned at the head of this entry.

The Jade Goody complaint was well founded and I actually learnt  from it – and that is the way an argumental complaint should work. I am open to advice and differing opinions – I am not perfect, so if people don’t say anything, I am not going to learn!

The ex-works complaint was slightly different. I had worded it in a way that read as fact in certain places, rather than opinion and feelings. All it takes is a polite email and I’m more than happy to revisit blog entries and correct them where I see fit. In the ex-works case I removed some parts and reworded others, as I feel my views were valid – but they were just that…My Views.

So… near on 50,000 hits to the site – over 300 unique hits a day on average – with a fair few days giving well over 1000 hits a day…. and only three complaints – of which only two had any validity…. You can’t grumble at those odds – and it also goes to show that more people understand me than I had ever thought.

So one and all, I thank you for your continued support, and I hope that future entries keep you coming back for more.

About LB

http://www.sometimespace.com http://about.me/thelucasblack View all posts by LB

One response to “Fill in the blanks

  • Greg

    You have to be careful when posting online about employers: it seems they’re starting to pay more attention to what’s written about them in blogs & social websites. Knowledge plus the humility to learn from others & changes one’s view – a great combination. Good one!

Leave a Reply

