The Page 56 Game

The Page 56 Game…. (An idea that has been around for ages)
So here are the rules:

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post that sentence along with these instructions in a note to your wall.
  • Don’t dig for your favourite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

For me it is:

“If MI5 had made routine inquiries in the area of of George Street in the Summertown district of Oxford where she had lived, they could have found evidence that she regularly used a radio transmitter during the war, putting up an aerial from a neighbor’s chimney for the purpose.”

Please note – If you haven’t left a comment before, then it may take a few hours to show up as I’ll need to authorise it. Cheers!

About LB

http://www.sometimespace.com http://about.me/thelucasblack View all posts by LB

35 responses to “The Page 56 Game

  • Dave Younger

    Page 56 game, my post:

    ‘The fossil species belong mostly to the former, only four species of Philodrominpe having been recorded, all from amber, while twenty-one Thomisides are known, not including those described below, all of which also fall here.’

  • rb73

    “For scopes mounted above the barrel of the rifle, sliding dovetails or a simple threaded screw system mounted to the receiver and muzzle worked tolerably well!

    Out of Nowhere – History of the Military Sniper
    by Martin Peglar.

  • hawk

    “If I had this illness twenty years ago,” he (Lance Armstong) said, “I wouldn’t have lived six months.”

    from John Stossel, Myths, Lies and Downright Stupidity. Get out the shovel-why everything you know is wrong.

  • Larry

    “Could be the end of an era.”-Doyle Brunson

    From “Aces and Kings-Inside Stories and Million Dollar Strategies From Poker’s greatest Players” by Michael Kaplan and Brad Reagan.

  • MadDeva

    “But Stuart’s mastery of the guitar left much to be desired and there was considerable friction as a consequence, especially between Stuart and Paul McCartney.”

  • Moonchild66

    “I assumed he was someone who didn’t like my politics, my television appearances, my sexual preferences, my manner, my voice, my face – me.”

    Moab is my Washpot – Stephen Fry

  • Sarah Andrews

    Victor Frankl said it more elegantly than I ever could when he wrote ‘Success, like happiness cannot be pursued, it must ensue!’

    That was taken from Robin S. Sharma – The monk who sold his Ferrari.

  • rb73

    These are all great! Keep them coming folks!

  • Rachel Hazelwood

    I hope they’re dead.

  • wendi

    And no sign of blood froth from the nostrils or mouth, which meant she’d died and stopped breathing almost immediately.

  • AndersUk

    “In fact, only string-like types will properly here, so it is likely that the Display method should be defined later (see the upcoming ‘Exercises’ section.)”

    — C# 3.0 Design Patterns by O’Reilly

  • linesthrublue

    “Starting with revenue, the simplest form of revenue calculation is on a revenue per response basis for a single campaign.”

    Total E-mail Marketing – Dave Chaffey (I’m at work)

  • chetthaker

    And so do I, regret … things I have done … and not done.

    From Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

  • rb73

    In another room… so I’ll do it again:

    “Cottontail had seen Tommy Brock passing in the distance”

    (Complete Adventures of Peter Rabbit -Beatrix Potter)

    In my sons room!

  • Daiv Russell

    Humility keeps us open-minded and allows us to learn.

  • wendi

    He didn’t care for western women at all, at least the ones he’s seen around Fuzhou (Tall and beautiful, casting disdainful glances at the Chinese men who’d stare at them) or tourists with their husbands and children (badly dressed, casting didainful glances at the men spitting on the sidewalks and the bicyclists who never let them cross the street) The Stone Monkey Jeffery Deaver. 2002.

  • Phyllis

    “The history of Russian literature from Pushkin’s time not only presents many examples of such a departure from European form, but does not even give one example of the the opposite.”

    “Dostoevsky: New Perspectives” Edited by Robert Louis Jackson

  • Karl LeRay

    “The best people don’t need to be managed”

    Jim Collins – Good to Great

  • Titus

    What if the book that is closest to me doesn’t have 56 pages

    rb73, on February 2nd, 2009 at 6:47 pm Said:

    Find the nearest one that does 😉 .

    Nearest to me is my sons alphabet book…. Hmmm…26 pages…..

  • annuitymaven

    If financeable, what is the cost per month for each of the four dreams (rent, mortgage, payment plan installments, etc.)?

    From Tim Ferriss
    The Four Hour Work Week

    Very cool game!

    Chris
    @annuitymaven

  • Steve

    “1991 AT&T, under chairman Bob Allen, buys NCR for a gigantic $7.4 billion and soon renames it AT&T Global Information Solutions.”

    Newton’s Telecom Dictionary, 22nd Edition.

  • Jude Robinson

    “The people here were simply incredible. All the women appeared to have stepped straight off the stage at Stringfellows. Except that they all had double-decker pushchairs full of half a million babies. And all the men had necks like birthday cakes and forearms thicker than my upper thigh.”

    For Crying Out Loud! by Jeremy Clarkson

  • Victoria Wildman

    The house was shaped like a T, and we lived in the down-stroke.

  • BigPinkHeart

    My father had been a religious man, more ritualistic than spiritual.

    Many Lives, Many Masters
    Dr Brian Weiss

  • Ethna

    The Page 56 Game…. (An idea that has been around for ages)
    So here are the rules:

    * Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
    * Turn to page 56.
    * Find the fifth sentence.
    * Post that sentence along with these instructions in a note to your wall.

    Aided and abetted by two girl prefects,she had a strict no-nonsense policy and I would often find myself at the cold end of her ice pops.

    The sound of laughter.
    Peter Kay

  • lou69

    I suppose the pain he suffered was the cause

    To the Top of Stoney Road
    Iris Roderick Thomas

  • Jennifer Webb

    Jenn’s quote:

    “Someone you connect with in cyberspace may be using a phony name.”

    I posted this in my Facebook notes. I was accused of making it up :-). But I swear I didn’t. The conversation was pretty funny.

  • rb73

    From the office…

    “Suitable for chordal measurement of gear teeth, keys, lands, ribs and fins!

  • Paulston

    I dumped it all on the floor

  • Christine

    “Good mature Lancashire is better than bad Caerphilly.”

  • jan thompson

    Can I just say I am actually up to page 56 ,how weird is that anyway……

    I never dressed up as him.

  • Gareth

    I found it.

    The Fellowship of the Ring – Tolkien

  • pitstopmark

    The British slang word bumf meaning tedious printed material was originally bum fodder, toilet paper

  • Dalevich

    David followed him to the emergency room and watched his deft hands as he felt Clarence’s body, tested for reflexes, probed confidently along the spinal column

    Where late the sweet birds sang – Kate Wilhelm
    (SF Masterworks #67)

  • rb73

    “Fact, Mr Smiley.”

    Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy.
    By John Le Carré

Leave a Reply

