Radio Head and a Nordic “adventure”

This was the start of a less than interesting “adventure”.

Whilst out exercising my back with some Nordic Walking, and clocking up some more miles on the excellent LEKI speed pacer varios, I spotted a cable. Well, what harm could come from following it!!

I followed for a short distance, then noticed it went up into the trees, dug under pathways, and yet in other places it was just laying over dirt tracks. It wasn’t going to be kids, as it looked like it had taken some effort to position, so it must be military.

I finally found the end of it…but no answers to what it was for.

So I carried on walking. Eventually I came across a Land Rover with some troops setting up a radio station. After a quick chat I find that they are doing comms training. The cable was a telephone line about 1.5km long. I carried on walking, and as with buses, you find one military radio station and then three more come along. Every way I turned there were temporary comms masts. Eventually I came across a well hidden encampment which I presume was the base for the exercise. Very well hidden!

As I stand here writing, yet another comms mast is sprouting up behind me… All quite a diversion from my usual walk! I must carry on, as I think I hear a beach exercise going on at the lake. You don’t get this in publicly owned woodlands!

About LB

http://www.sometimespace.com http://about.me/thelucasblack View all posts by LB

One response to “Radio Head and a Nordic “adventure”

  • Jessica

    that’s pretty interesting =]. i find it pretty funny how you see the military using tools such as glowsticks which normally you would relate to parties and raves haha. i actually like glowsticking at raves a lot, it’s pretty fun, have you ever tried it? i finally found a good teacher for it, i suggest looking at this glowsticking tutorial i found if you want to try it out, it was really useful =]. if not then just skip this, just some friendly info haha.

Leave a Reply

