More data in….

I am so glad I found out about Nordic walking!!! I was going stir crazy not being able to keep up my fitness routine of interval run/walking.

As mentioned previously, my back is causing me trouble, and a lot of pain – I injured it doing something I had done many times before at work, but that doesn’t make it right: Tip – Those manual handling courses and Health and Safety regulations serve a purpose….

Anyway, I read up on the effects of Nordic walking – and the fact that some doctors and physiotherapists use this as way to help people with very serious back injuries (and other injuries) to recover.

There were all sorts of claims as to how it burns more calories – takes the load off of the back and legs – and shares it over the rest of the body – and allows you to exercise for longer as the legs don’t tire so quickly…

My previous post shows a straight 2km walk versus a 2km Nordic walk.

This post shows a full Nordic lake walk versus one of my last C25K Interval (Run/Walk) training before I injured my back. The C25K was around the lake with a 90 second run followed by 2 minute rest, repeating for the full distance.

The kcal burn pretty much speaks for itself – but what you don’t see is the fact that after the Nordic walk I felt like I could just keep going – and I felt comfortable in my back, which is great – as even normal walking around and sitting is leaving me in discomfort at the moment.

So on to those figures…. The top two tables show the data and training heart zones from the C25K interval training. You can see my heart did get into a higher (red) zone – which has certain advantages – but the best zone to be in (for me at the moment – and people exercising in general) is the orange zone. In the lower two tables you can see that for almost the whole distance I was locked into that one zone for the duration – and I didn’t do that on purpose – that’s just as it happened.

INTERVAL TRAINING CHARTS:

NORDIC WALKING CHARTS:

Yup…. that’s only 56 seconds outside of my optimum zone!!!!

When it comes to equipment, you need poles and good trainers (not stiff bottomed hiking boots – you need a flexable sole) the poles have special binds on for wrist support and ease of pole use – It is a glove like design that keeps the pole between your thumb and first finger. Hiking poles just have a wrist loop – and this is no good. As for shaft design: Some people say go for one piece poles due to safety, but this is rubbish! A telescopic pole from a reputable company (tested and certified) is just as safe. The choice between telescopic and fixed length should be due to what you will use the pole for – and nothing to do with safety.

For me though, on an engineering point of view I know what I am looking for in a two part telescopic pole mechanism. Lets face it – sometimes you need a pole that can be shortened to be stored or carried in a back pack. The problem is that a poorly designed telescopic pole lock mechanism and/or a mechanism that hasn’t been tightened properly can cause pole collapse – not a great thing, as you can imagine…(a problem some people have if they just don’t have a good vice like grip when tightening the lock!)

Having yourself checked out for the correct running trainers is also a very important thing to consider – just like for running and jogging. The wrong equipment can end up causing you long term future problems.

About LB

http://www.sometimespace.com http://about.me/thelucasblack View all posts by LB

2 responses to “More data in….

  • Pete Edwards - The Ski Walking Guy

    Thanks for another great posting about Nordic Walking!

    Everyday we recieve thank you emails and thank you cards from happy Nordic Walking customers.

    Here’s one that just showed up in our inbox:

    Pete: I met you at the Senior’s Expo in Suttons Bay a few months back. I bought a set of your Nordic Ski Walking poles and they have been of immense help in dealing with my lumbar stenosis. A few years ago, I found that the only strenuous exercise that wouldn’t cause shooting leg pains was snowshoeing. Obviously, the ski poles I use while snowshoeing had been taking enough weight off of my legs to eliminate the pain. Well, guess what? The same principle works with ordinary walking so long as I use your Nordic Ski Walking poles. The increase in exercise from Nordic Ski Walking poles has helped me lose weight and has probably put off the need for spinal surgery for at least a few years. Thank you very much.

    Jay

    The benefits are many and the six million plus Europeans that are Nordic Walking can’t be wrong!

    Have FUN Nordic Walking!

  • rb73

    Pete,

    After putting in close to 50km now I am starting to see fault with my cheap two part poles.

    Not collapse or strength, as these that I have are bullet proof – but as there is internal mechanism, and there for parts that touch, I do notice some vibration within the pole (mainly the left one).

    I walk at least 5km a day, and was looking at the Exel Extreme due to my terrain, weight , height and useage – as the Extreme has 100% carbon. The only place I have seen them for sale though has 125cm maximum….

    I’m 192.5cm tall and have a very long leg. I have tried 130cm and 135cm – but 130cm is more stable and has more push. I found that 135cm just gave too much slip on pavement and leaves. 130cm has better traction for me.

    I am interested in your carbon one piece, but the photo of the grip/strap isn’t so clear. I like something easy to attach – my current pole is a y-shape with velcro. The buckle on your poles looks like it could be uncomfortable – or awkward to keep putting on and taking off – but I can only see that in the picture, so to those others reading this – it is only a view based on a picture!!!!

    The trouble with most straps is that they are fiddly to get in and out of, and I like the idea of quick release.

    Can you send me some large images of the grips, with and without people strapped in – so I can see them clearer.

    Ideally I’d like to test them – but no-one in the UK seems to have them…. In fact a lot of the Nordic Pole suppliers all link to one or two UK sites, and they aren’t great from what I have seen.

Leave a Reply

